GETTING TO KNOW: PRINNIE STEVENS

Of Tongan descent, Prinnie Stevens was born Princess Stevens. Prinnie is one of Australia’s most sought after performers and has been classed as triple threat exceling as an actor, singer and dancer. She burst on to the musical theatre scene at 17, performing in the Australian premiere of Rent: The Musical. It was her Helpmann nominated performance in Oh, What A Night! that took her to the next level – she was asked to move to New York and front an all-girl group. While in New York, Prinnie performed alongside Patti LaBelle, Chaka Khan, Mary J Blige, John Legend and many more. Despite this success, Australia kept calling and Prinnie returned to her homeland. Prinnie chose to step out and try something new and auditioned in 2012 for the TV program, The Voice, making the top 4 in Team Joel (Madden). Prinnie was asked to join the 2013 cast of Celebrity Apprentice and was also made Co-Host on the Voice Kids Season 1. Prinnie made her return to musical theatre and her Westend Debut in London with Thriller Live, gaining rave reviews touring Australia, New Zealand and Malaysia before returning home and starring in Bonnie Lythgoes production of Aladdin at the State Theatre Sydney. Prinnie has appeared in films including Moulin Rouge and The Sapphire. She has been an ambassador for the charity Musicians Making a Difference and is the 2024 Adelaide Fringe Ambassador.

THE STREET TALKED TO PRINNIE BEFORE HER PERFORMANCE IN CANBERRA.

PLEASE DESCRIBE YOUR MUSICAL JOURNEY.
I didn’t grow up in a musical family. Although we all sang in church, I am first generation, so being a Musician was a not a job anyone in my family was familiar with. I started singing and dancing at a very young age. From as early as 6, I did everything. Dancing and singing, and once I finished school I went on to study performing arts. It was my everyday, I lived and breathed singing and dancing and didn’t see anything else in my future.

WHAT WAS THE GENESIS OF YOUR THE LADY SINGS THE BLUES SHOWS?

Like so many, during Covid, I started writing down all the thoughts I had that I never had time to put together. Shortly after, I got a call from a friend who asked if I had any Cabaret style shows that I would consider taking to Adelaide Fringe festival, and the rest was history. And we’re 3 years on now

WHAT IS YOUR CREATIVE PROCESS IN BRINGING YOUR OWN VOICE TO THE STORIES AND SONGS OF ICONIC WOMEN IN MUSIC OVER THE LAST CENTURY?
The creative process started a long time ago. I have always been intrigued with not just singers and artists. But their backstories and the history behind their hurts and pain. I gravitated towards biographies from a young age and have too many to count. I always wanted to know more and that’s where it all started. I speak on all these incredible ladies but also have stories to go with the songs for each. To allow the audience to feel like they know each artist and little more once they walk away.

WHAT DRIVES YOUR PASSION TO TELL “BLACK AND BROWN STORIES UNFILTERED”?
I am very passionate about women and any diversity to be telling stories unfiltered, because if someone has not experienced these happening then its impossible to know the intricacies of the works. For me, I have lived my life as a woman of colour in music, in theatre, on TV and behind the scenes. I have lived these experiences and want the audience to get a first hand view on the subject matter.

WHILE LIVING IN NEW YORK, YOU WORKED WITH AN ALL-GIRL GROUP AND ALSO PERFORMED ALONGSIDE LEGENDARY ARTISTS. WHAT IMPACT DID THAT TIME HAVE ON YOUR MUSIC AND PERFORMING?
Living and performing in America meant that my idols were right there. Performing soul, rnb, and pop next to those who created it. The likes of Patti Labelle, Chaka Khan, Sister Sledge, Mary J Blige and more. To be amongst peers and to be able to share my talents and learn every day from the greats was an experience I will never forget and something that I know had changed my world, my music and my art form. I know what it looks like. I know how it feels and that will always be with me.

HOW DID BEING ON THE FIRST TV SEASON OF THE VOICE INFLUENCE YOUR CAREER INCLUDING SOME OF THE DEVELOPMENTS AND COLLABORATIONS THAT EMERGED.
The Voice changed my entire world. It opened up so many opportunities for me. I knew who I was as an artist and as a woman so I was able to take on the experience and use it to benefit my career. I think entering into without knowing who you are can be dangerous, but if you have a solid sense of self it can transform your career.

PLEASE TELL US ABOUT YOUR MUSICAL THEATRE EXPERIENCES FROM PERFORMING IN AUSTRALIA TO LONDON’S WEST END AND BACK AGAIN?
My first musical theatre show was Rent where I understudied Christine Anu. I was young and I had the huge job of SWINGING. It was a crash course into musical theatre and I went on to do nearly 10 musicals. It was the perfect platform for a dancer singer and I loved the experience. West End was one of my favourites, Thriller LIVE, where I got to perform Michael Jackson each and every night. The songs, the stories and the dancing took us to the west end, Australia, new Zealand and Asia. Musical theatre will always have a special place in my heart.

HOW DO YOU BALANCE FAMILY LIFE AND CAREER AS A PERFORMER AND AS AN ADVOCATE FOR THE IMPORTANCE OF MUSIC IN LIVES?
Balance is my main goal in life, although I’m not sure how well I do at it! Lol. Part of the reason why I started creating my own works like Lady Sings the blues is so that I can control my own schedule and make it make sense with my family life.

WHAT ARE YOUR VIEWS ON THE GENDER BALANCE AND OPPORTUNITIES FOR WOMEN IN THE INDUSTRY IN AUSTRALIA?
As mentioned in previous answer, I created my own show so that I could make my work life balance make sense. I couldn’t wait to be invited to the table, I knew I had to build my own table. There is so much hierarchy and hoops to jump through and so much progress to be had, that sometimes it’s better to just create your own race rather than try to run the race that isn’t a fair fight.

WHAT IS INSPIRING YOU CREATIVELY AT THE MOMENT?
I am always inspired by women. Their strength and resilience. With Tina Turner passing less than a year ago I was reminded of her incredible strength, but sometimes you don’t have to look that far. My daughters, my aunts, my friends inspire me every day. Their strength and resilience in everyday life blows my mind. My best friend Mahalia Barnes, she is a mum, and artist but also managed her Dad and so well! Mind you. True success is in balancing your life, your needs, your wants and truly finding peace and happy. And that is different for everyone.

PRINNIE STEVENS PERFORMS LADY SINGS THE BLUES VOL 2 AT THE STREET THEATRE ON SATURDAY 2O APRIL AT 7.30PM.

Leave a comment